Full 4k UI upscale

Share, discover, or contribute to mods for Persona 5 for PS3 and PS4.
Post Reply
User avatar
rexis
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 5:52 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Full 4k UI upscale

Post by rexis » Sun Feb 23, 2020 7:11 pm

This mod replaces P5's UI textures with higher resolution versions and
also disables certain shaders that cause some extra blurriness. New textures
are 3 to 5 times higher res (9x-25x pixel count) than the ones found in the
ps3 version. Works only with RPCS3. More info inside.

some comparisons
https://imgsli.com/MTI0NjI
https://imgsli.com/MTI0NjM
https://imgsli.com/MTI0NjE
https://imgsli.com/MTI0NjQ

download v1.2.1
https://mega.nz/file/EPwFWZDb#tMPcaKevE ... 8J4MxBRdh8

Tested with rpcs3 v0.0.10-10406
I'll make a mod compendium version as soon as it supports more granular file replacement.
This does not work with Japanese version. Supporting it would require remaking a large portion of the mod.
Last edited by rexis on Tue May 19, 2020 11:16 am, edited 6 times in total.

User avatar
A-NB
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2020 9:16 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Full 4k UI upscale

Post by A-NB » Mon Feb 24, 2020 6:33 am

Wanted to give this a try but getting this error while trying to load the game with your exe. Tried on my current and fresh copies of rpcs3.
Image

Any idea what i did/whats wrong?

User avatar
rexis
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 5:52 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Full 4k UI upscale

Post by rexis » Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:00 am

Hmm... weird. I might have forgotten about opengl renderer. If you're using opengl, try Vulkan. If that doesn't work, can you please post your RPCS3.log? This error message isn't very descriptive.

User avatar
A-NB
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2020 9:16 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Full 4k UI upscale

Post by A-NB » Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:31 am

rexis wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:00 am
Hmm... weird. I might have forgotten about opengl renderer. If you're using opengl, try Vulkan. If that doesn't work, can you please post your RPCS3.log? This error message isn't very descriptive.
Happened also with Vulkan. But i just redownloaded the mod and got it to work without any issues. Guess something went wrong the first time, dunno.

Anyways, great job! Games's looking great now.

Matwoj
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 6:15 pm

Re: Full 4k UI upscale

Post by Matwoj » Thu Feb 27, 2020 6:20 pm

Same problem as A-NB here. Tried redownloading without any luck. Seems like the .exe is the problem as the game (without this mod) launches fine on normal RPCS3 and doesn't launch on the edited one at all (with or without the 4k mod.)
log:

User avatar
A-NB
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2020 9:16 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Full 4k UI upscale

Post by A-NB » Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:52 am

Matwoj wrote:
Thu Feb 27, 2020 6:20 pm
Same problem as A-NB here. Tried redownloading without any luck. Seems like the .exe is the problem as the game (without this mod) launches fine on normal RPCS3 and doesn't launch on the edited one at all (with or without the 4k mod.)
log:
Download this RPCS3 build: Download
Place the mod exe in the directory of this build and it should work. (You'll have to reinstall the firmware and everything though)

User avatar
rexis
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 5:52 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Full 4k UI upscale

Post by rexis » Fri Feb 28, 2020 10:44 am

Oops, looks like I forgot to update submodules. Issue was most likely related to audio library. I have uploaded a new version based on build 9755, which should work for everyone.

Matwoj
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 6:15 pm

Re: Full 4k UI upscale

Post by Matwoj » Fri Feb 28, 2020 8:11 pm

Fixed after installing the RPCS3 build that A-NB linked and using the updated rpcs3_mod.exe, also managed to unpack the mod using CriPak to be able to combine with other mods and that works fine(don't combine with redrawn/scaled bustups). Thanks guys!

User avatar
A-NB
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2020 9:16 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Full 4k UI upscale

Post by A-NB » Sat Feb 29, 2020 2:00 am

Hey @rexis forgot to ask something, did you do anything to force 60 fps?

With the non mod exe the game doesn't run at 60 fps unless i add the 60fps patch in the yml file.
With the modded exe it always runs at 60 fps, even when the patch doesn't even exist in the yml.

It's not a big deal since i can just cap it to 30 with rivatuner, but i was wondering.
(As much as i'd love to play P5 with 60FPS i usually don't get more than 40fps in busy areas, so i rather have it at a constant 30fps.)

Matwoj
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 6:15 pm

Re: Full 4k UI upscale

Post by Matwoj » Sat Feb 29, 2020 8:53 am

@A-NB you can cap your fps in RPCS3 as well, I noticed my game was going over 60fps with the modded exe and the 60fps patch so it was running too fast. The option to cap is in GPU settings under Framelimit, there's a 30 fps option as well.
Image

Post Reply